The Government of Sri Lanka has temporarily suspended the On-arrival Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) facility for foreigners arriving in Sri Lanka through Normal / Ordinary Passports from 14/03/2020, 12.00pm (Sri Lankan time) until further notice except for the ETA exempted countries; Maldives, Singapore and Seashells . This decision is not valid for Diplomatic, Official and Service passport holders.

Further notify that if there is any deemed necessity to visit Sri Lanka and visas should be obtained for such travels prior to the arrival via following means.

  1. Online (Through the ETA Website –
  2. Respective Sri Lankan Mission
  3. Head Office of the Department of Immigration & Emigration