Representing the President and the Government of Sri Lanka, Hon. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardana, the Speaker of the Parliament of Sri Lanka arrived in Ankara on 3rd June 2023 for the Inauguration Ceremony of the of H.E. Recep Tayyip Erdoğan, the Turkish President, who was re-elected with the approximately 52.2% votes casted at the second round of Presidential election held on 28th May 2023.

President Erdoğan who has been in power for 20 years, began his next 05-year term on 3rd June.

The Inauguration Ceremony held on 3rd June 2023 at the Presidential Palace was attended by high level officials from 78 countries including 19 Heads of State, Vice Presidents, 13 Prime Ministers, Deputy Prime Ministers, speakers, Ministers, Head of International Organizations, former Presidents and Prime Ministers. President of Bangladesh, President of Venezuela, Vice President of Maldives, Prime Minister of Pakistan, Deputy Prime Minister of Cambodia, President of the Russian Federation State Duma, Deputy Chairman of the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress of the People’s Republic of China, Foreign Secretary General of NATO and Secretary General of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation were among the foreign dignitaries. Many other nations were represented by Ankara-based diplomatic missions.

In his speech at the Inauguration, President Erdoğan referring to the foundation of the Republic 100 years ago, mentioned that "Our nation, which completed its national struggle with the establishment of the Republic a century ago, will crown the second century of the Republic with the Turkish Century."

Later, a dinner was hosted by the President at the Çankaya Palace for foreign dignitaries and others.

At the dinner, Speaker had the opportunity to greet and wish President Erdoğan and to convey felicitations on his re-election from President Ranil Wickremasinghe, the Government and the people of Sri Lanka.

On the previous day, based on the results of the General elections held to elect members to the Turkish Parliament on 14th May 2023, members took oaths at the Parliament.   

Hon. Yapa Abeygunawardana and delegation left for Sri Lanka today, 5th June 2023.

Embassy of Sri Lanka


5th June 2023